WRC is the Championship’s headline category and the spectacular new-era World Rally Cars are driven by superstars such as Thierry Neuville and Ott Tänak.

Three manufacturers compete for drivers’, co-drivers’ and manufacturers’ world titles across all championship rounds. All rallies count towards the final standings.

Getting technical 

  • 1.6-litre, fuel injection, turbocharged, four cylinder engines fitted with a 36mm air intake restrictor
  • Power output restricted to 380bhp
  • Permanent four-wheel drive, six-speed sequential gearbox with paddle-shift on steering
  • Mechanical front and rear differentials. Active centre differential
  • Weight: 1190kg minimum. 1350kg with driver and co-driver
  • 0-100kph in less than 4sec
  • Top speed exceeds 200kph

WRC 2 is the championship’s primary support category and the principal feeder for ambitious competitors targeting the final step to a WRC drive. The category is for manufacturer-backed teams and independent teams approved by the FIA.

Competitors must tackle eight rounds, comprising a minimum of six and a maximum of seven European rounds and at least one rally outside Europe – either Mexico or Japan. All eight scores count. Titles will be awarded for drivers, co-drivers and teams.

The championship is open to R5-specification four-wheel drive cars from the Rally 2 class of technical regulations. They are less modified than World Rally Cars and power and performance are balanced through turbocharger air restrictors, minimum weight stipulations and price caps.

WRC 3 is aimed at independent drivers only. Cars comply with exactly the same technical regulations as WRC 2. There are titles for drivers and co-drivers and competitors count their best six scores from any seven rounds.

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close